Posted by: dsduffy | May 24, 2009

Dreams


Sometimes we dream about being chased by bad guys (baddies), or that we are back in college, unprepared for a big exam –  real enough that when you wake up, your heart is beating and you have to convince yourself that it was only a dream  And there are dreams we remember so clearly when we wake up, only for them to slip away the longer we are awake. If  we are really lucky, we have dreams about a loved one who has passed too soon, seeing their smile again and hearing their laugh. Those dreams may leave you wondering if it was a fabrication in your own mind, or an actual visit from “the other side.”

Lately I have been having dreams about seeing my family. In my most recent one, I was hugging my mom, that close-your-eyes-squeeze-hard kind of hug, that just feels like home. And, in my dream, after we finished the hug she grabbed my hands in hers and I swear it was real.  After dreams like this, I feel a little bit renewed, like I actually saw her, and it makes the homesick feeling lessen just a little bit. For now, I will cherish these dream visits, until we can be together again.

HUG

HUG


Responses

  1. Ohhhh …. so sweet (and tears again)! Hopefully it won’t be long until your dream is a reality! Here’s a virtual hug …. love you!

  2. awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

  3. Beautifully said. I know how you feel. My mom boards a plane in a few hours for her first trip down under. I can’t wait to see her!


Leave a comment

Categories