Posted by: dsduffy | May 27, 2009

A kangaroo at school, and the Wiggles


On Tuesday, These People came to Cameron’s kinder. He got to pet a kangaroo (!), hold a snake, among many other exciting things (it is nearly impossible to get any info outta this kid). Never would I expect to have a baby kangaroo at school, but remember – this is Australia.
Then today Craig took the day off and we all went to The Wiggles Show. My kids aren’t particularly “into” them, but when in Rome Melbourne! It was definitely fun, and we actually knew a few songs. Jake kept saying he had fun at “The Wiggles Movie.”

On another note, I am a member of an American Expat message board, and most recently there were some messages going around about what people would bring back here from the US if they could. Which got me to thinking about the things I miss (although able to live without, just would really enjoy right about now):
Ben & Jerry’s coffee heath bar crunch (or any flavor at this point, the ice cream selection here is NOT GOOD); Dr. Pepper soda; Rold Gold Honey Wheat Pretzels; Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups; Pepperidge Farm Cinnamon Swirl Bread; Seven Seas Creamy Italian Salad Dressing; and finally: croutons (not sure if I am just looking in the wrong aisle in the grocery store?)
Anyway, these are just a few things I just wish I could have…I am getting used to the items here, but there are some things you just can’t substitute for. Oh: and who knew that cilantro & coriander were the same thing? Not me!

Responses

  1. There’s a random store next to Lord of the Fries across from Flinders that has Reese’s – I almost flipped out I was so happy. Oh, and what I would do for Rold Gold Honey Wheat Pretzels…

  2. Now you have me thinking… diet coke w/lime, Mike’s Hard Lime (yes, I like lime!), PB Capn’ Crunch, Boar’s Head Oven Gold Turkey, and Tony Luke’s Cheese Steaks. Maybe you could make croutons??

  3. Hello from a Melb girl who once was an expat herself, albeit in Japan.

    I must say I love reading about your adventures here in my home city, especially about what you miss from home. Having once been an expat myself I know all about missing stuff from home. I missed vegemite, vanilla slices and Hungry Jacks Veggie burgers the most, but I hardly eat them now.

    Have you heard of The Original Lolly store? There is 1 in Carlton and 1 at Melbourne Central, their website is not updated but if you google them you can get the address’s. Anyway they stock USA and UK lollies (candy) and drinks too. Maybe icecream?

    Croutons are at the supermarket, we buy them, not sure what asile though (my husband does all the supermarket shopping…is that very Australian?) They ARE there though!

    Ohhh with icecream I think its more popular to go to a gelati shop, like Trampoline on Brunswick Street, which is YUM, then it is to eat it at home in a tub?

  4. The ice cream selection in Australian grocery stores is poor. I’ve been enjoying some Texas made Blue Bell ice cream during my stay here. I’ve also, dare I say it, had some Ben and Jerry’s. I really don’t understand why we don’t get B&J in Australia. I’m pretty sure they have it in the UK. We do like the gelati on Lygon Street in Carlton though.

  5. Why oh why did you have to remind me about the honey wheat pretzels. They are so yummy, and now I really miss them! πŸ˜‰

  6. Oh man I’m so with you on the Honey Wheat Pretzels! I miss real bagels a lot, too.

  7. I miss my chocolates. I don’t know if they have all of the brands that I like here 😦 Anyway, I bought a lot of stuff at the airport once I arrived, so here’s to hoping I find them again when the stash is gone.


Leave a Reply

Categories

