Posted by: dsduffy | November 21, 2013

Another international Thanksgiving, but this time in America


We celebrated 5 Thanksgiving’s in Australia. Imagine – I had NEVER cooked a turkey in my life, I might have helped my mother-in-law prepare the side dishes, but I was never in charge of the whole dinner! It was funny, I have to say, trying to prepare my first turkey back in 2008, 2 months after arriving down under was quite interesting. I ended up collecting random recipes from Allrecipes.com and used them every year afterwards. We celebrated it every time with our German friends who are now more like family and I will miss them dearly at our table this year.

This year, we have more international friends to celebrate with, it cracks me up – Aussies, a Scot, and a Canadian – just the way it should be!

It is such a relief to be able to buy all the ingredients needed, and not having to pay $6 for a box of Jiffy cornbread mix!

Responses

  1. […] From America to Australia, and back again! […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

