Posted by: dsduffy | October 19, 2013

Overlapping seasons


The calendar says October. I have pumpkins outside my house and (opened) bags of Halloween candy in my kitchen pantry. So why, oh why was there snow on the ground this morning? The sun came out and the snow melted by the early afternoon, but still. It’s October!

Living in Melbourne, they often would say, “if you don’t like the weather, wait 5 minutes!” and “four seasons in a day”  so I guess I should be used to this, right? I guess I can deal with a little snow in October in return for 300 days a year of sun.

It is so exciting to be experiencing Halloween with the boys. It feels like their FIRST Halloween – since they were 1 and 3 the last time we had Halloween in America and well, sorry Australia, but you guys just don’t do it like we do.

Every day after school I drive the boys around another part of the neighborhood, scoping out the fantastically decorated houses. I spot them during the day, and make mental notes to take them back. “Ok, corner of Florida and Fillmore, that’s a good one. They will love it.” They ask to go back past houses we saw a few days earlier, I drive by slowly, pointing out zombies, witches and spiders. It is so much fun to experience this with them, I can only imagine how Christmas will be!

 

Responses

  1. I really love you are blogging about your transition back! So excited for you and the boys to be experiencing Halloween. We miss it! (Well, truth be told, I only miss the costumes, not the candy part, considering it was always a stressful season for us, nut allergies and all)

  2. Hello, I am an American living here in Australia at the moment. My family and I are planning to go back to the State. Do you have any recommendation about shipping companies to ship our household stuff? Any help would be really appreciated.


Leave a Reply

Categories

