Posted by: dsduffy | October 3, 2013

Here I go again…


Write what I know, write what’s on my mind…here I go…

When we lived in Australia, I was pretty positive that we would move back to the States. Yes the option to stay for good was there, but in my mind, in my heart, I knew we would end up back here somewhere. 

So now that we are back in the States, I am in mourning. Sorry to say, but it’s true. I mourn the loss of a place I grew to love. I mourn the loss of the many friendships that were so important to me. Of course we can keep in touch, but come on, it’s not the same. No way no how. 

I know in my heart that I want to go back – one day.  But I can’t go back now even for a visit – I wish we could….so bad.

Now I have to find my place here, in Denver. I have to move on I guess, look ahead and stop looking back. It’s not easy. 

Responses

  1. I can only imagine what you’re going through. But, I have to say, if I were to move back, Denver would be on my top 5 list so I think you made a really smart move. Good people there. Smart, forward-thinking and friendly. Never know — maybe we’ll meet for coffee in a Denver cafe in a couple of years if the urge for us to move back ever becomes overwhelming. 🙂

    • Thanks Jen. That would be something huh…we know never know where life takes us! But you are right, Denver is pretty awesome…the only downside is NO SEA! Oh well…. at least we are a family of skiers.

  2. It is certainly never easy. I have only just found your blog and as I read through your posts I find myself thinking “mhhm….I hear you”. I didn’t even know reverse-culture shock existed until I read about someone else not being settled on their return “home”. I am the opposite of you in the locality sense; I am a Melbourne girl and but I spent 2 years in California (and married a Canadian living there). I have been back in Australia 4 years this month and not one day has passed when I don’t plan my return. Time makes things less intense, well, maybe for some days, but my husband (the one I found in CA) knows the gypsy in me just can’t let it go. It’s certainly an emotional road when we have to choose which route to take 🙂 Warm wishes, DL


Leave a Reply

Categories

