Posted by: dsduffy | September 13, 2013

Where is the handbook?


Parenting. It is, once again, kicking my ass. I clearly remember complaining about sleep training, or potty training, or some other ridiculous training and my older sister telling me, wait til they’re older. 

Well, they are older. And the problems? They get bigger. She was SO right. 

To make matters worse, I received the recent copy of Parents magazine in the mail today and MAN, did it make me MAD! 

All those cute cherubic faces of toddlers, happy mothers sitting with those cute kids, followed by craft ideas, halloween costume ideas, cute animal-looking dinner ideas. OMG I wanted to burn that magazine. Crafts? Yea right. Have you met my boys? Make my own halloween costumes? Ha! I am sure they wouldn’t like them anyway. Healthy dinners? I can’t even. 

Oh Parents magazine….at least you made me laugh, right before I tossed you into the recycling bin! 

I wish there was something more realistic, something that I can relate to at this stage of the game. I’d appreciate an article titled, “How to keep your cool when BOTH your kids get in trouble at school on the same day.” Or, “The kids wanted a dog and now it’s just another chore for me to add to my plate, help!” maybe even a page about “Green vegetables. Seriously?” These magazines, blogs, tv shows, all have posts/articles/spots about moms and kids that I just don’t relate to. Read that again: I just don’t relate to them. They are false, fake, something that I just can’t attain. I feel like a failure just reading the headlines of the articles. How terrible is that? 

Motherhood. Parenthood. I want to do the best job I can. I don’t want to f*$% up my kids. I want to do the best I can for them. 

Parenting. The hardest job out there. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

