Posted by: dsduffy | July 25, 2013

What it’s like


It’s like I never left, like Australia was a dream. It’s like I was beamed into a spaceship and dropped into a different life. It’s like I don’t even know where I am.

Yes I like Denver. The people I have met are great. I love our neighborhood. But I am once again alone – without my family in NJ, my friends in America and at the same time without the friends I made in Melbourne. I am at square one. I am in my own country but still feel alone, isolated.

At nearly 40 it is hard to make friends all over again. Yes they are nice, yes we have a bit of a social life, but nobody really knows me. Moving in general isn’t great, but it’s this after effect that they don’t tell you about. It has been six months, shouldn’t I feel “settled” yet?

This is what it’s like, at least for me.

Responses

  1. Moving and settling in isn’t easy for anyone no matter how old you are. There are many definitions of friends. A true friend relationship grows with time. Be patient. You are such a special woman that people will begin to get closer and closer to you as they begin to know you better. Be patient, forget your timeline, just let it all happen and it will.

  2. When we left Australia, we did move back to my “home” – where I grew up, where my family is. (But I moved away several years before going to Oz) But it was no longer the same. I never felt more alone in my life than I have since coming back. We’ve now been here almost 2 years, still don’t have many friends – my thoughts and personality had adjusted to being Australian, and it just doesn’t fly here in the South. We’ve bought a home, and replenished all of the things we had to sell moving from one country to another, but I still don’t feel “settled”. I don’t think I will until I move back to Australia. I hope you find some peace…at least you have moved to a beautiful part of the country with people who have similar thoughts to those in Oz 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

