Posted by: dsduffy | June 11, 2013

First summer


It is actually my 8th summer as a mother, but it kind of feels like the first. Summer with non-school aged kids isn’t the same as it is with 6 and 8 year olds. With toddlers, everyday was the same – summer didn’t mean “no school.”  In Australia, summer holidays were 6 weeks off with Christmas and New Year’s mixed in. There weren’t sleep away camps (although there were other types of camps) it just felt different.

Today is the first day of our official summer, since I was still working last week. We created a “Summer Bucket List” together of activities that we would like to get to over the next 11 weeks (11!) I am so excited to spend this time with my boys and hopefully create some good summer memories.

Responses

  1. That sounds like a great idea. Having the boys be a part of choosing the things they would enjoy seeing and doing. I am happy to see you back on here. I have missed reading about your adventures. Bring on Summertime!

  2. How long did you live in Melbourne? I stumbled on your blog and can relate to what your writing. We moved to Melbourne 15 months ago from Idaho. Not sure when we are headed home and I miss home a lot but I know I will miss Melb a lot!

    • Hi Steph – We were there from Sept 08 – Jan 13, it was such a great experience! I miss it so much, it is a strange feeling knowing that our time there is over…enjoy!

  3. the summer vacation should be spend to Melbourne .the best tourist spot.


Leave a Reply

Categories

