Posted by: dsduffy | February 10, 2013

Unpacking


I had a few worst-case scenarios in my head: 

1. Our stuff was sold on that show “Storage Wars” 

2. Our stuff was lost

3. Our stuff was ruined by water, mold or who-knows-what

None of these things happened. Thank goodness. 

But what really happened when I began unpacking wasn’t even a thought in my head. I knew that I kept some baby stuff. I knew we had the crib and rocking chair, maybe a bin or two of clothing and some toys. What arrived 2 days ago was much more than that. Sippy cups, overnight diapers, 8 bins of baby boy clothes, 2 bins of maternity clothes, A SHIT LOAD of baby toys, a high chair, a safety bed rail, baby blankets, pacifiers, and so on and so forth. I could have an all-out baby garage sale, if I had any  energy left. It seemed like we high-tailed it out of Massachusetts with nothing for our kids (when I know we had plenty of stuff, but man, we left A LOT behind.) 

I was cleaning off our kitchen chairs and laughed to myself as I scrubbed off milk droplets. The dirtiest one must have been where 3 year old Cameron sat, back in 2008. 

It is a little sad that I didn’t get to rock Jake to bed in that comfy glider. He was only 18 months old when we moved to Melbourne. I would have loved to read him bedtime stories in that chair. Oh well, I have to leave the past in the past and more forward. 

We are settling in nicely. The house is awesome, the kids love having a basement and more outdoor space to play. I love the quiet, the space and the cozi-ness. 

This afternoon, neighbors from 2 doors down rang our bell and brought us cookies! They were very nice and welcoming. I have a feeling we are going to be very happy here. 

 

Responses

  1. So glad you’re settling in nicely & loving the house & neighborhood! Can’t wait to come visit! Wishing you much love & many, many happy times in your new home. Love to all ….

  2. The next time I’m in Denver, I’ll bring you some Tim Tams to bring a little home-away-from-home, back “home”(?) to you!

  3. I’m happy to see you are keeping up the blogging (and settling in okay). Guess what? I nominated your blog for a Liebster Award. Check out what that means:

    http://imadealiyah.wordpress.com/2013/02/19/and-yadda-yadda-yadda-i-got-nominated-for-an-award/


Leave a Reply

Categories

