Posted by: dsduffy | February 1, 2013

Reverse, misses and getting settled.


Culture Shock!

I can’t remember to walk on the right, I keep having near-misses with parents at Jake’s school. I’m messing up the whole flow over here. And getting into the car on the wrong side? I got that covered too. I’m flicking on the wipers when I want to turn left, I’m searching the radio station for familiar songs. I greeted the barista at Starbucks with “How ya’ going?” and the moment the words left my mouth, I knew it was wrong.  She looked puzzled, the same way I must have looked when I first heard that in Melbourne. I have to make an effort to order Cameron a Sprite instead of lemonade, ketchup instead of tomato sauce, so on and so forth. I am sure you can read my posts from Sept 2008 and get the same idea in REVERSE.

I am missing my friends. I miss the normal life that I had. I knew where to go, there were familiar faces, and people who knew me. Now my days are quiet and lonely. Again, I am sure you could read my posts from the beginning in Melbourne and it will be the same, but now I am all alone since my boys are in school all day.

My heart broke tonight when Jake called from his bed: “Mom? Will we go back to Australia again?”  To which I replied, “What do you mean, sweetie? To live or visit?” Jake continued, “To visit. I want to see my friends.” All I could do was walk in and give him a hug because I don’t have an answer.

Thankfully next week we get our house. I can focus on organizing, unpacking and making our house a home. I am hoping to meet some neighbors, that would be ideal. (My spell check does not like I how am spelling all “American” again!) And then only a few weeks later we will be taking a family vacation to Florida.

Taking it one day at a time.

Responses

  1. Yep, time to change that Microsoft Word option back to “Language Format: U.S. English.” And i can totally relate to your 2008 posts right about now :\ Keep writing posts, Danielle!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

