Posted by: dsduffy | January 23, 2013

Limbo


Not the Chubby Checker “Limbo Rock”, more like the dictionary definition:

 -an imaginary place for lost, forgotten, or unwanted persons or things
– an unknown intermediate place or condition between two extremes in limbo
 
I know the first sentence is a bit extreme, but at times it is spot on.
I know we’ve only been here for 10 days (nobody can make friends that quick!) And I do vaguely remember this feeling when we were new to Melbourne, but I also had younger children (1 & 3) when it is easy as to meet other mothers. We were constantly at playgrounds, story-time at the library and swimming lessons. It was hard not to talk to others. This time around, since the boys aren’t in school yet (tomorrow!) we have been the odd ones out at the playground amongst the 2 and 3 year olds.
Oh what I would do for a friend to meet for an afternoon of shopping at all these amazing stores, for a chat over coffee, for a girls night out at a Thai restaurant I drove past yesterday that looks good. I miss my friends. I miss the 9am texts that simply read: coffee after drop off? I know it will happen, our routine will fall into place, I will make new friends, things will feel normal, but this part – this limbo – sucks.
Responses

  1. Before you know it, your social calendar (and the boys’) will be full! It won’t take long for folks to realize this chick is cool and how fun it would be to hang out with you:) Oh, and your husband’s not too bad himself 🙂 ♥ you


Leave a Reply

Categories

