Posted by: dsduffy | January 11, 2013

Dear Melbourne,


I write this to you with tears in my eyes. I also have sand on my feet and tanned shoulders from your sun. I spent the most amazing day along the shore of the Port Phillip Bay with friends and children that I would not have met if it weren’t for you. You, Melbourne. You were so easy to fall in love with and I am so sad to leave you. I will miss so many things about you, but a few things on the list: your coffee, your fresh delicious food, your laneways, your fickle weather and your tram system that took me a good six months to master. I will miss your love for Footy, drinking wine  at many of your cafes and restaurants, your friendly people, your “no worries, Mate” attitude. I’ll miss being asked “busy day planned?” by the checkout girl at Woolie’s or the smiling man at Caltex. I’ll miss the school community, all the barista’s that started making my soy flat white upon seeing me enter the door.

At the top of the list, I will miss the people. Friends that have touched our lives in ways that I could never have imagined. People that I will miss dearly, whose kids I’ll miss seeing grow up. Thankfully we have Facebook, FaceTime and Skype to keep in touch, but it’s not the same as receiving texts like “coffee after drop off?” Or “pizza Friday night?” “Can Charlie sleepover this weekend?”  and  “BBQ on Sunday?” I will miss the everyday interactions for sure.

Melbourne, you are one of a kind and I thank you. I thank you for being so welcoming to this little American  family. Thank you for being genuine. I look forward to coming back to visit one day. But I will always remember our 4 and a half years together, always.

Love,

Danielle (Tanya)

Responses

  1. And Melbourne will miss you dearly….

  2. Like a ‘refreshing’ summer breeze. 🙂 Keep on smiling my friend. Middle Park will not be the same without you. Xo


Leave a Reply

Categories

