Posted by: dsduffy | December 19, 2012

Preparing my children for the move overseas


A lot of people have asked “how are the boys about the move?” and “are they excited to go back home?”

The answers aren’t so easy. To them, this is home. Melbourne is what they remember. America is the stuff they see on TV, and the 3 visits we have had to see family. They don’t really remember living in NJ or MA – Jake was 18 months old and Cameron 3. How could they remember?

So when I answer, it is usually, “well, they are just sad to be leaving their friends, but happy to be closer to family.”

Today while waiting at the dentist, I was asking the boys silly questions and I asked Jake what his best day ever was. He said something about Auskick and when he got a silver medal. Then Cameron piped in and said that his best day ever was the day we arrived in Australia and his worst day hasn’t happened yet – it will be when we leave Australia. It broke my heart, but at the same time, I completely understand.
We are going to a place we have never been before. He doesn’t have any friends (I don’t either!) and change is scary.

I have tried to focus on the positives about our move to America: being able to see grandparents, cousins, aunts & uncles. Going to baseball games, eating their favourite cereal (Cinnamon toast crunch!) and visiting places that are new. We have a trip planned to Florida a month after our return with some family members so that has been something I have been reminding them of.

At the same time, these same points are helping me too, because I find it hard to leave Melbourne, a place I consider home.

 

Responses

  1. Danielle I have loved reading your blog.
    Beautifully and thoughtfully written.
    I shall refer it to my daughter who has emigrated to Australia with her family.
    I hope you visited our fair city of Adelaide, South Australia.


Leave a Reply

Categories

