Posted by: dsduffy | November 12, 2012

A little bit of everything


This move is unlike any other. I’ve moved out of my childhood home to college, knowing that I could always “come home.” I knew that I’d be back a few months later for Thanksgiving. Then I moved from living on campus to living off-campus. That was no big deal, seeing that it was an exciting time, and a time that was centered around change. After college, I moved a few times, but my biggest move (distance-wise) was from NJ to MA.But again, I knew that I would be back to NJ, since all of our family and friends were there.

This time around, I am pretty certain I won’t be back anytime soon. I do hope to come back in my lifetime, but I just don’t know when. People say, “You’ll come back for a visit, right?” And I smile, take a deep breath and say, “Maybe!” But in all honestly, when we travel in the next few years, it will be to new places. Places we haven’t seen in America, visits to friends in the UK, islands to explore, other mountains to ski down.

This makes me sad, because I absolutely LOVE Melbourne. I love Australia and I love my friends. I will miss them dearly, and would love to visit, but it is very unlikely in the near future. So I am feeling sad about this, and excited about moving back to America, but also wary that it will be hard. Hard to just be “normal” no longer standing out because of my accent. No longer feeling the excitement over all things Aussie (coffee, food, animals, weather, music, etc etc.)

But I am going to try my hardest to be excited about living closer to Boston, we can explore the city like we never have before (when we lived there, it was always with young kids so we didn’t do much exploring.)

I’m feeling a bit of everything at the moment: sad, excited, overwhelmed, and a tiny bit stressed. Moving across the planet isn’t easy, it takes a lot of planning, organising, patience and deep breaths in between.

Responses

  1. I have been following your blog for a few months now. I just moved from New Jersey to Sydney because I married and Australian. I understand how you are feeling in the reverse if that makes sense. It gives me some relief that you feel so sad to leave Australia. I am having such difficulty making this my home. I yearn for NJ and and NYC. I would do anything to be with my friends and family. So seeing you say you have changed and in such great ways is good to hear. Yet I can’t help and be jealous of you getting to go home.

  2. I have a feeling you will always feel like the citizen of two counties and as much as that pulls at your heart stings……..you have lived a richer life because of it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

