Posted by: dsduffy | September 30, 2012

Normal will be strange


Back in June of 2008, Craig and I took a two week trip to Melbourne to check things out. We wanted to see what it was like, drive around to  get a sense of what life was like here. When we got to our rented apartment, I turned on the tv and landed on Sunrise, the AU equivalent of The Today Show or GMA. I sat there, fresh off of a 24 hour trip from the other side of the world, and could only catch every other word of what the hosts were saying. Why were they laughing so much? They seemed so happy! After a few minutes, I could understand them better, but they sounded so weird!

I could not get over how happy they were – even when reporting the news, it all seemed so upbeat. This was a big difference from the news shows in America, yes there are happy stories and the hosts often laugh, but not to this extent.

Now when I watch Sunrise in the morning to get the day’s weather forecast, it seems normal. I know exactly what they are saying, and even know what they are talking ABOUT. Unlike before when they would mention Megan Gale, I had no clue who she was. Any mention about Spring Carnival left me at a complete loss – a carnival with a horse race? What’s with the hats? Now I even know some of the names of the footy players they are discussing, as well the faces of the politicians.

The transition back to America will leave me in a similar situation, I will have to get used to the News programs and how negative everything seems. The alarmist reports about dangerous plastics, the latest worry about seat belts or helmets, always something people are not doing right. Back to the finger pointing of political campaigns, gossip about celebrities I haven’t heard of from TV shows I don’t watch.

It will take some time to get used to, but I am sure it will come back to me. And in due time,  I will forget the laughter from the hosts on Sunrise who greeted me every morning on the other side of the world.

Responses

  1. I don’t think you will ever forget the experiences you had for the 4 years living in AU.. It will always be a part of you and your family…

  2. OMG – Breaking news! Major snowstorm to hit – expecting 1/2″!!! Panic is filling the local grocery stores – here’s Cecily to bring us the life-impacting news! You mean alarmist like that? Maybe I’m getting old, but I do enjoy listening to BBC radio and actually getting educated on what’s going on outside of the US (did you know there were people actually living and surviving outside the USA?)

    • Too funny Patty!

  3. good post


Leave a Reply

Categories

