Posted by: dsduffy | September 6, 2012

Moving on…


After nearly four fantastic years, we are moving on…back to the States. We have a few months left to soak in all that is the glorious city of Melbourne, and I intend to do just that.

We started out with a plan to stay for two years, which turned to four, and I am so thankful for this journey, for the opportunity to live in another country, on another continent, in another culture. I was able to show my children that the world is theirs for the taking, they can go and do whatever they want. We learned and grew together; my five-year old took my hand and made me brave to snorkel in the Great Barrier Reef. My seven-year old gone from a toddler to a confident and responsible boy . My husband was the reason we came here at all, and I found myself here, my true self who wants to see more of the world and write about it.

I may no longer be Melbourne Bound after January but you can be sure that I will continue to write, I am sure my “repatriation” will provide lots of posts!

Onwards and upwards!

Responses

  1. I have been a mostly silent reader, but have loved your take on the world! Enjoy your final months here in Melbourne and best wishes for returning home!

  2. So excited that you’re coming home! Can’t wait to hug you all!!!

  3. Oh no! Just when I arrive as an expatriate, you have to go 😦

  4. Looks like I discovered this blog four days too late.

  5. I have been enjoying your blog and optimism. I just moved from NJ myself and I am so homesick. I married a wonderful Australian. However the idea of being here forever terrifies me. Your calmness and approach to a new culture is inspiring.

    • Thanks so much for your comment LG. It took awhile to get the laid-back attitude, and I often just have to “act as-if” but it works! Enjoy AU, a place I am very sad to leave!

  6. good post


Leave a Reply

Categories

