Posted by: dsduffy | August 2, 2012

The hardest job


I knew that parenting was hard. People told me, I saw other mothers struggling, heard them complaining, and read article after article about it. But living it is a whole different ballgame. I don’t have a Mother’s group here, like all Aussie mums do, that became friends when their babies were brand new. I left my Mother’s Group behind in New Jersey when Cameron was only 15 months old. I am thankful to have some friends with similar age kids to go to for advice, to make sure what I am experiencing is not JUST ME. And of course my family is always helpful, but I miss having the Mother’s Group as a support system.

I befriended another expat who I only see two or three times a month at Taekwondo when our boys are front kicking and round housing, and the entire time we chat away about expat-ness. Today I was in need of an ear to vent to regarding motherhood. Thankfully she was receptive and was able to assure me that no, I am not ruining my kids, their behaviour is normal, and yes it is the hardest job out there.

Responses

  1. Don’t doubt yourself (but I guess we all do) …. you are a fantastic Mom raising two incredible little boys!

  2. Hello! I have just stumbled across your blog for the first time today and spent a very happy couple of hours reading your story, still have a couple of years to get through which given what you said in the first few posts is turning out to be a lovely surprise!
    It’s been particularly interesting to me because my family and I are planning to arrive for our own adventure in Melbourne by Christmas this year (please note I took the hint and won’t be asking how much longer you’ll be there, lol!).
    Just wanted to say though that it’s a fab blog and I’m really enjoying it, hope you’ll carry it on where ever you may be! X

  3. So glad you found someone to vent to! All you need to do is move back to NJ and you can have that mother’s group (well, me at least!) back. Miss you…


Leave a Reply

Categories

