Posted by: dsduffy | June 18, 2012

Tis the season to hate my Facebook news feed


As an expat, I think Facebook is awesome. It keeps me connected to people and lets me know what is going on with everyone. At times it is hard to see the photos – of family and friends that I miss so much, having fun, at parties that I wish I was able to attend. But I usually get over that and remind myself that is just par for the course of being an expat.

The one thing that really annoys me is when it is winter in Melbourne and summer back home. Post after post of photos and status updates about the perfect beach day, or of drinking poolside. All this, while bundled up in my scarf from the comfort of my couch. Yes I know that it is the same for them when it is summer here – but it is only one person in their news feed updating about the summer, rather than the majority of people for me.

And winter in Melbourne is strange – it’s like a never-ending November. Not cold enough for snow, no Christmas holiday to get excited about – just grey cold wet days that seem to linger on and on. Ugh, summer can’t come soon enough.

Leave a Reply

Categories

