Posted by: dsduffy | May 25, 2012

Being an Aunt


It was 1997 when I earned the title of Aunt. Fourteen years later, I am the proud Aunt of two nephews and a niece. And now that I am a mother, I am able to see the differences between the two roles.

I love them as much as my own kids, they make me proud, they amaze me. Of course I love my own children but it is different with my nephews and niece, I’m don’t have to discipline them, I don’t have to parent them – I just get the fun part.

I get to watch them play and interact with my boys, forming a lifelong bond and memories to share. I notice the similarities between them and my boys, the way Riley and Cameron are the exact same height, for now. I can’t get over how much Jake and Jared resemble each other, physically and personality wise. I love to see just how much Jason loves my boys, waving to them from the ice during an ice hockey game. I love how much my kids look up to their big cousins, wanting to be just like them. Even though they don’t see each other often enough, the minute they are together again, it’s like they never left.

Being an Aunt to these three kids is a role that I cherish and am so thankful for, and spending time with them – real quality time – is so special.

Responses

  1. I love you too aunt Dan. I love having you, Craig, and the boys in my life. We dont see you a ton but every second is the best. I love you.
    Love,
    Jared
    Hugs and kisses from America to Australia. 🙂

  2. I love your blog post aunt Dan. i loved having you guys at our house and spending time with Cameron and Jake. We will always cherish these memories. I miss all of you and hope to see you soon.
    Love,
    Jason ❤


Leave a Reply

Categories

