Posted by: dsduffy | April 12, 2012

In the same boat


I haven’t gone out of my way to meet Americans. It just happens. For example, at the playground over three years ago I heard “the accent” and was immediately drawn to a girl who has become a very good friend. We had a mutual friend, but she never mentioned it to either one of us that she had an American friend (which I am thankful for, it’s not dating!) And my other very good awesome American friend I met at Jake’s kinder two years ago. I stalked her until I finally worked up enough nerve to start in with the, “Hey, you have my accent!” We just clicked, and not because we are both Americans.

I am a member of an American Expat group, but have only been to one Halloween event, it’s just not for me. I often find myself telling myself that I have enough American friends, why do I want to seek them out here? But – all the American (and Canadian) friends that I have met – I am thankful for. I find such comfort in being with them. We all know what it’s like, we can joke about the differences, reminisce about foods and stores we miss, being with them is just easy.

Some have moved on, and some I see more than others. We are all on different paths, some true expats, some transplants for good, others just taking it day-by-day, but we have so much in common. We have an experience that most of our other American friends would never understand, which makes us have a special bond. I truly cherish my American friends down under.

Responses

  1. There is that bond- one that I miss! I find making friends AGAIN in my current American town is harder than as an expat in australia! Hope all is well with you and the boys.


Leave a Reply

Categories

