Posted by: dsduffy | April 2, 2012

What it’s like


I’ll tell you what it’s like. To be constantly reminded of an issue you just don’t want to think about all the time. To be bombarded by people with questions, judgments, quizzical looks. To have your privacy invaded, with strangers even. I’ll tell you how much strength it takes to not be rude, to not answer honestly, instead to say just what they want to hear. I’ll tell you exactly how it feels when a person you thought was an acquaintance change their entire body language and stop talking to you altogether because you told them you were moving away at an unknown point in the future. Can you even imagine how that feels? Actions speak louder than words, and this woman’s actions shouted to me, “I’m outta here, why waste my time with you!” I have no idea if that is really how she felt, but that is how I took it.

When I was pregnant I fielded many of the same questions, but only because I had a massive belly that could not be ignored. And it was only for about six months. This is going on now for nearly four years. It gets tiring. It gets old. I’m just over it.

And if you think that I am repetitive with my blog posts about this subject, that is only about 1% of how often I am bombarded, quizzed and practically interrogated. So there.

Responses

  1. You go girl! If people don’t want to “invest” time getting to know you, they are missing out on a truly good thing 🙂
    Watched a HH Int’l last night from Melbourne! Family was looking in the Sandringham area(?) and Port Philip Bay – did you see that episode??

    Love you!
    Pat

  2. Another HH Int’l from Melbourne last night – the family was looking to move up to the Sunshine Coast?


Leave a Reply

Categories

