Posted by: dsduffy | March 28, 2012

And just like that, they’re gone


The laundry is tumbling around the dryer, their towels with some little boy socks mixed in. The green mug my mom used is sitting in the dishwasher, and the peel from this morning’s orange is in the bin. Remnants of their visit, but poof, just like that, they are gone. I think my cat is sad, she is looking at me like, “where’d that nice lady go?”

But that’s how it goes with visitors, the build up to their arrival, the excitement of when they are here and then the emptiness when they are gone.

Back to normal life. Back to our little family of four. Back to having no extra hands, no people around who love our kids as much as we do.

That’s just the price we pay for being expats, living a zillion miles away from “home.”

We just have to hold on to the good memories we’ve made, and hope that it’s not too long til we see each other again.

 

Responses

  1. My heart aches….tears in my eyes….

  2. I just cried reading this…. Hope you had a great visit. You need to come home already 😉 xoxo

  3. I totally understand how you feel. It is so sad that I feel alive only when they are around us. I wish I can learn to get over this feeling.


Leave a Reply

Categories

