Posted by: dsduffy | February 3, 2012

Questions with no answers


It’s kind of like when I was pregnant and I got asked the same two questions by nearly every single person I came in contact with: 1. when are you due 2. what are you having.

I think this is the most common theme on this blog: me complaining about people asking me the same damn questions: 1. how long have I been here Β Β 2. when are we leaving. I know I sound like a broken record, but now you know how I feel with all these questions! (NOTE: I am NOT referring to my family, you have every right to ask us these questions, I am referring to acquaintances and random people in the shops, etc.)

Three and a half years, and I DO NOT KNOW! I want to drop kick the next person who asks me, and tell them to shove it, but I won’t. I will answer the question very calmly and it will probably include something like, “sometime this year” or “I have no idea” or “not sure.” People are not comfortable with these answers, and even more – they are not comfortable with the fact that I AM comfortable with it.

When I wonder why this bothers me so much, I realise it’s not these people asking me questions, they are curious – they are being friendly. I am sure I would ask someone these questions too. I think it gets on my nerves so much because it makes me think about the fact that we won’t be living here forever. That this will end, and I have to face the fact that it is temporary. I hate to think about that.

 

Responses

  1. So, when are you coming home??? Love you!

  2. Hello, I have been following your blog for a while now and I am interested in your observations of living in another country. I can understand getting asked the same question over and over might get a bit taxing, but people ask because they are curious or interested. While we are one of the worlds most multi cultural countries, and no one blinks twice at all the different languages, you hear on the street. But aside from tourists, there is still not a great representation of Americans living in Australia. We are still mostly British stock, and our culture, is based on British heritage, so any one for the commonwealth, does not raise our interest that much. I put the interest in Americans down to the fact that your are the same as us but vastly different from us and our commonwealth cousins. So when people ask, take it as a compliment, they are being friendly and are interested. I have been to the state 5 times and I was asked the same questions you get asked. Every time you meet someone new, you are new to them. As Mae West use to say, β€œIts better to be looked over than over looked.

    An avid fan of your Blog

    • Thanks, Brian. I appreciate your comment. I know, they are just interested and I get that, but sometimes it just gets on my nerves! Glad to have you as a reader πŸ™‚

  3. Man I get this soooo much! It gets more awkward when people ask me where I’m from because when I say “america” they say “I know…but where” and then I go “new hampshire” and the go “oh…where’s that? Is it near chicago?” or “What state is that in?” And it’s not that I expect them to know every state in america (far from it), but when I’m buying a toothbrush I don’t really want to be giving out geography lessons.

  4. I recently came across your blog as I was doing a search of Americans living in Australia. Me being one, I found this entry to strike a cord in my heart. I’ve been living in Sydney for 3 years now and I always get those questions along with “Are you Canadian?” as soon as I answer no I’m American I see a change in attitude. It was/is hard for me when people ask those questions because it always reminds me that I’m not an Aussie and makes me feel a bit out of place. I know they are curious and making conversation but from past experiences when living back in California I felt every time we came across and Aussie or any person from a different country we were excited to meet them and wanted tI be friends straight away. But for me that was never the case out here, there always seemed tI be hesitation. With that said we have amazing friends out here and love living in Sydney…just took some time to adjust πŸ™‚ thanks for your post!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

