Posted by: dsduffy | December 1, 2011

1 December, aka 1st day of Summer


Once again, the seasons change. And in Australia the official time to change the season is the first of the month. Today is the first day of summer. I shake my head, and think to myself, “Yea, that’s weird.” Christmas is 24 days away, and it is getting warmer outside. (Well, not today, but eventually it is supposed to get warmer, come ON Mother Nature!) To make matters even stranger, the school year is coming to an end. Jake will “graduate” from Kinder and Cameron from Grade 1. We are entering our 7 week summer break. In December. This is our 4th summer here and I still cannot for the life of me wrap my head around having summer in December.

I wonder: Do other expats feel this way? Even after many years living outside of their home countries? Would it ever NOT feel strange to be wrapping gifts in winter-themed paper while wearing summer clothes?

Responses

  1. Even after living in Hawaii for thirteen years it still feels so strange. It is the end of the school year and the beginning of summer that I struggle to combine with Christmas time. It makes it hard for me to focus on one or the other, making it harder to enjoy either. Someday it wil all be back to normal.

    • Also, after awhilewill what we thought was “normal” feel strange? I guess there is no way to really go back to normal, after living somewhere so different.

  2. YES! I still think it is So so so sSO weird to have christmas in summer. I see the decorations and just think “what the?” Le sigh.

  3. It’s something that feels so bizarre to me. I can’t imagine what it’s like! I got home on Saturday night to a snow-fall of 15 cm. And I said, “well at least it looks Christmas-y outside.” Today I associate Christmas with snow. Guessing that all will change!


Leave a Reply

Categories

