Posted by: dsduffy | November 13, 2011

How I ran 14km (8.69miles)


I signed up for the first Annual City to Sea Run about seven weeks ago. I ran at least three times a week, averaging 6 kms per run. I continued taking Body Pump, FitBall & spin classes. I stressed out. I added countless songs to my running list entitled “Move it.” David Guetta, Lady Gaga, Black Eyed Peas, Black Gold. They were all lined up ready to push me along the way.

I woke up this morning with a nervous stomach. I forced myself to eat peanut butter on toast and drink some sort of endurance powder mixed into my filtered water. I laced up my trainers, my foot taped and as ready as it would ever be to face the 14 kilometers ahead of me.

I took the tram. I walked with the growing crowd down to the starting line at the Arts Centre. I stood among the 13,000 people, all waiting to run.

I ran. I watched the people in front of me, passing some of them, being passed myself. I sang along to songs I wished I didn’t put on the playlist, I talked myself through the “I don’t want to run anymore” thoughts. I stopped for water three times, the last time getting a cup of yellow Gatorade which them propelled me through the final 4 kilometers.

I saw my boys. All three of them at the turnaround on Beaconsfield Parade. They were cheering me on, smiling, fueling my fire to run to the finish line. They rode along side of me on their bikes, the Black Eyed Peas telling me that tonight would be a good night at the same time. My heart pumped, I smiled and I ran.

I crossed the finish line in 92 minutes. I ran 14 kilometers. And I loved it.

 
Responses

  1. Good for you! That’s awesome!

  2. That’s my girl ;0)

  3. Love your smile on the way to the finish line, and how the boys are so supportive of their mommy! Craig – great photos of a huge accomplishment!

  4. so proud of you 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

