Posted by: dsduffy | November 6, 2011

Just look outside


What I assume to be grandmother and granddaughter catch my eye. Immediately I am reminded of my own grandmother, with her silver bun and pocketbook swinging from her left elbow. Shuffling her feet at a slow graceful pace, a perma-grin on her face for so many reasons. Her granddaughter is linked to her other elbow, and they walk in unison. Maybe they are going for a coffee and will share a lemon slice together, both eating off the same plate. The grandmother will listen to her granddaughter talk about work that week, about her husband and how they are planning on trying for a baby soon. This makes the grandmother think of her own youth, when she was young and in love. Such a long time ago, but nice to know it still happens and the world still turns.

I don’t know if any of this is true, but this is what I see, when I look outside.

Leave a Reply

Categories

