Posted by: dsduffy | October 16, 2011

Lucky


I guess that’s why I always wanted daughters, because I love having a sister. A built-in best friend, but not always. We started out four-and-a-half years apart and according to my mom, she loved me unconditionally from day one. I, on the other hand, was a rotten brat to her and tormented her endlessly, often leaving her arms scratched and bleeding. She never once laid a hand on me in retaliation, because she didn’t want to hurt me. Bless her, my sister, such a sweet person. I still apologize to her for being so terrible, I don’t know if I can ever make it up to her.

This goes to show how kind-hearted my sister is, she was abused by her little sister and took it all in stride (I use the term abused, but I just mean I was a pain in the ass who would hit and scratch, even possibly bite!) She always looked out for me just like a mother would, which I hated back then. But now I see just how much love she had for me and was always worried about my well-being.

It wasn’t until I went off to college that I realized how lucky I was to have a sister. We were different in many ways, yes, but what siblings aren’t? We finally were on a common ground and grew closer and closer as the years went on.

I look at my two boys and know how lucky they are to have each other to lean on, and hope they remain close forever.

Happy Birthday to my best friend in the entire world, my big sister Stephanie.  I love you!

Responses

  1. Happy birthday mom love you.

  2. Happy Birthday mom I love you so much

  3. I am the Lucky one!! You are the most caring, loving, understanding, strong, supportive, smart woman and I am so lucky to have you as my younger sister and best friend!! I love you!! Maybe you can share stories and relate to Jared who often has struggles with “younger sibling” stuff 🙂
    Happy we have become so close even though we are physically far away, we have a bond like no other, so special it is!


Leave a Reply

Categories

