Posted by: dsduffy | October 1, 2011

They are everywhere


A dream I had last night. We were shopping together. Something so simple, something we love to do. But when I woke up, I missed my sister even more.

When my youngest son tells me that the ketchup bottle is “emp-a-ty” I smile, and think of my mother in law, I love that these her presence exists in our day-to-day life.

At the gym, I always choose locker #53 and smile, cause it’s part of my dad’s email address which he chose when he was 53 – I love that about him.

I say to Cameron, “what sweetie?” when I didn’t hear his most recent request. “Nevermind” he replies, with the same intonation as my mom and that also makes me smile.

When Jake smiles at a certain angle, he resembles his cousin Jared. I wish we could see the two of them together more often, but I am comforted by the fact that they share the same genes and have both inherited the same goofiness.

Seeing 6-year-old girls at Cameron’s school giggling together, wondering if that how my niece Riley is when she is with her friends. I’m sure it is.

I am reminded of those that I miss and love all the time. It is comforting, to wake up after a dream, feeling like I have just “seen” them. But other times it is like a knife in my heart, the feelings of missing them seeping in and taking over. Yes I have made Melbourne my home for the time being, entrenched in the routine of life with kids. But on the other hand the reality that we are 10,000+ miles away from each other takes over and hits me square in the face.

Bam.

Just like that.

Responses

  1. OMG, so beautifully written. We all share similar thoughts about each other. I guess that is what keeps us all so connected no matter where we are in this world. So “sweetie” I can’t say “whatever” about this. I Love you more ;0) Mommy

  2. Wow!! You got me with this post! The same experiences have happened to me, I tell you of a few of them, not too many, because it makes us too sad. I long to be with you and shop together. I see your faces in the photos on my fridge when I open the door 1,000 times a day. I am jealous when friends or strangers are together with their sister watching the kids baseball game, then making plans for dinner. I wish it was me picking up my nephews for car pool. Looking through photos of when Jared was younger, I see Jake. My sons enjoying hiking, biking, building and fixing things just like their uncle. J & J talking about the funny things their cousins say and do, they love them so much! I find comfort in knowing that you are happy and experiencing so much while living on the other side of the world, knowing that we all have such a strong connection.

    “Missing you gets easier every day, because even though it is one day further from the last time I saw you, it’s one day closer until I see you again.”

    I love you sister! xoxo

  3. Hopefully, it won’t be too much longer until we’re all together again … shopping, sharing holidays, cousins playing together … just enjoying one another’s company … that’s my dream. Miss & love you all so much!

  4. Hi, I love your blog.
    i’m writing from Connecticut, we are moving to Melbourne after Christmas, . We have a 13 y.o girl and an 8 y.o. boy…any advice on fun family neighborhoods? Thanks! Karina.

  5. hugs. x.


Leave a Reply

Categories

