Posted by: dsduffy | September 6, 2011

September changes


September. For Americans, it is the end of the summer, the month when school starts again, and is the beginning of the fall season. For Australians, September is the 3rd term of school and the start of Spring.

September is now the month that, in the past ten years, has become a time of sadness and of remembering the tragedy on 9/11.

It has become a month of mourning for a nation, after 9/11. But a year before that, it became the month I lost my brother.

On the 8th of September, 2000, one early morning phone call changed a lot of people’s lives.  A mere 12 days before his 29th birthday, he left this earth, and hopefully, is continuing his journey elsewhere.

I named my firstborn son after him, I got a tattoo to commemorate him. I talk about him to my boys, try to imagine what he would be doing, at 40 years old. Would he have settled down? Had a family? Who knows, we will never know. All I know is that this September, it will be eleven years that I am without him, that his music is no longer being heard. But in my mind, he is somewhere out there – jamming away on his bass guitar, laughing and smiling that smile.

All we can do is remember, and try to preserve their memory – that is what I want when I am gone. I want my loved ones to talk about me, remember me for all my silly moments and smile at things that remind them of me. We don’t want to be forgotten, for our lives to be pointless. So in honor of Dave, I will think of him even more on the 8th and the 20th and smile.

All the world’s indeed a stage
And we are merely players
Performers and portrayers
Each another’s audience
Outside the gilded cage

-Rush “Limelight”

Responses

  1. beautifully written♥

  2. A lovely tribute to David.


Leave a Reply

Categories

