Posted by: dsduffy | August 27, 2011

Feeling faraway


Sometimes it just happens. It could be triggered by a birthday party, an “end of season sale” email sent from Banana Republic, but in this case, it is Hurricane Irene that is making me feel all of the 10,000 miles that are between me and my hometown. I have been glued to all social media outlets, The Weather Channel and even listening to news radio from New York for the updated reports on this nasty storm  headed towards the East Coast of the US.

I am hoping all my family and friends are safe, and that their homes are also intact after she leaves her mark on the land. I just have to wait and hear about it when I wake up on my Sunday morning to hear how their Saturday night went.

Fingers crossed.

Responses

  1. We did ok. We were totally prepared for anything that Irene was going to put in front of us. Lost our Comcast Cable, but that was about it for us. Nigel was a real trooper going out in those crazy winds and teaming rains. I knew we would be fine…we have you with us 24/7 no matter where you are. All my love, all the time, Mommy

  2. I know exactly what you mean. We just moved to Australia and it’s been hard to watch the Hurricane unfolding on the news and not know how our friends and fam are doing. Luckily, everyone was okay but I really appreciated reading your blog post.

  3. Thanks so much for your concern & your phone calls. We are sooo lucky that we didn’t suffer worse damage …. water was really high, but didn’t get under our garage. The power is back, water has receded & no real damage except a few missing roof shingles. What a week …. an earthquake & a hurricane in one week! Miss you all!!!!

  4. I know how you feel, big events ‘back home’ make the distance seem huge (and emphasis the challenges of the time difference). We moved from London to Sydney and spent a weird few days immersed in media during the London riots. Hope all your nearest and dearest are safe and well.

    • Thanks, Sarah!


Leave a Reply

Categories

