Posted by: dsduffy | July 7, 2011

The letter T


The first time I heard the word “tattoo” pronounced TADOO by an Aussie I was like, “what?” Then I also heard the word “cartoon” pronounced CARDOON, I shook my head and continued on with my life. But it has taken me almost three years to realize that all other words with “t,” the “t” is actually pronounced, opposed to making it sound like a “d”. Take the word “Saturday.”  We Americans say it “SADURDAY.” And “little” we would say “LIDDLE.” And my all-time favourite: BEETROOT. I, as an American would say “beet-root” opposed the Aussies who pronounce it “BE-TROOT”

So this is where I am left, once again, shaking my head and wondering: why are those 2 words pronounced with “d” sounds but no other words with “t?” Huh? What’s up with that?

(My auto-correct REALLY doesn’t like all my made-up words above, but how else can I convey what I am talking about? Sorry, Mr. Autocorrect. I’ll spell better next time.)

Responses

  1. I don’t think I have ever said the word “beetroot” in my life! 🙂

  2. Haha, Patty! It is extremely popular here so I hear it all the time!

  3. what do you do with it??

    • I’ll post some recipes, it’s actually not bad! Apparently very healthy 🙂

  4. That’s funny! I have only heard the word beetroot in a movie. In Bridget Jones’ diary, they mention beetroot cubes. And I always wondered what it was.


Leave a Reply

Categories

