Posted by: dsduffy | June 26, 2011

Excuse me while I brag about my kids


*Warning: over the top obnoxious “my kids are the best ever” post to follow. If you are nauseated by this type of banter, feel free to click away*

For a little backstory, we attended a demonstration of taekwondo at a school fete a few months ago and when Cameron saw a boy just about his age break a board with his hands, he came to me and said “Can you sign me into that class?” We called that Monday and signed both boys up for taekwondo classes on Thursday afternoons. It was great that they would be able to be in the same class. We started a little late in the term but my boys quickly picked it all up and fit right in.

Fast forward to this morning, we have attended for about 2 months, and my boys were pretty ready for their first “grading” where they would have to show their skills to hopefully get their orange belt.

boys, in action

I’m not sure who was more excited / nervous, me or the boys – but I’m pretty sure it was me. I took a million little snippets of video, and I would love to figure out a way to string them all together, but for now I am continuously rewatching :09 seconds of my little boys focused on the task at hand, shouting KIYA and executing perfect face blocks.

Horseriding stance

After the grading part, the kids were all seated in their lines and all of a sudden Jake’s name was called out, the first name to be called. He stood up and wasn’t sure what to do. He had to be directed by one of the instructors to go up front and accept his certificate and crisp orange belt. It was such a proud moment for me, to see my tiny little 4 year old looking so big and proud in front of a packed room of students and parents. Then I scanned over to Cameron who was waiting patiently for his name to be called. Finally he was called up and again, the sense of pride filled my heart.

We did it!

Who knows how far they will go with taekwondo. For now, they are trying their best and having fun, and that’s all that matters.

Responses

  1. You go right ahead and “gloat”, Mum!! It’s a wonderful feeling to see your kids succeed at something! Congrats to the boys & love to you all ….

  2. oh so cute in their kit. they just melt our hearts don’t they.


Leave a Reply

Categories

