Posted by: dsduffy | June 16, 2011

Things I never thought I would say:


1. “I’m off to Sydney for the weekend!”

Followed quickly with “by myself, without the kids!” As much as I love being with my family, I look forward to a weekend away, for a friend’s 30th birthday party on Bondi Beach. I even look forward to sitting on the airplane, by myself. Not having to search frantically in my packed-to-the-brim carry on bag of goodies for a specific game/toy/snack/tissue/teddy bear. I can sit and READ A MAGAZINE! Now that is what I call freedom.

2. Spoken to a table full of 6 year olds: “do you have a rubber?” I helped out in Cameron’s class yesterday and one of the kids at the table I was sitting at made a mistake in her book and wanted to erase it. I took a deep breath, turned around to the left and asked as calmly as possible, “do you guys have a rubber?” It took all my energy not to laugh, because hello! It felt like I was asking first graders for a condom. Yea. And when they say they need to “rub it out” opposed to erase, I also have to bite my tongue to stop from bursting into laughter.

3. “I don’t think Santa will bring you a hamburger for Christmas, Jake.” After every commercial for toys that my kids see, Jake excitedly says “I’m gonna get that for the next Christmas!” Well, after a McDonald’s ad, he said “I’m gonna get a hamburger for the next Christmas!” I had to explain that is highly unlikely. The kid barely eats hamburgers anyway, and I have no problem making him one tonight, he doesn’t have to wait for the 25th of December for one.

4. “I’ve lived here for almost 3 years.” I knew when we moved we would be here for 2 years. Then it was extended to 3. It is still hard to believe that much time has passed already. When I look back at the photos from when we just moved here, I am shocked at how young the boys were! When I about the upcoming 3 year anniversary it just amazes me.

Responses

  1. I hope the weather here in Sydney improves before you arrive and that you have a wonderful, fun-filled adult weekend!

    • Thanks, Jenny!

      Danielle 0423 322 367

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Rubbers,ha! Very, very funny.


Leave a Reply

Categories

