Posted by: dsduffy | January 15, 2011

The Afterglow


I have found that going back to the States for a visit fuels my tank. I’m not sure that makes any sense to you, but it sure does to me. I get a “fill,” if you will, of love from my family, indulging myself with hugs, familiar faces, and drinking in the scenes of watching my boys spend time with their grandparents, aunts, uncles and cousins. No heaping plate of pasta could ever compare to how full I felt after spending time with the people I love. To see my boys’ sheer delight basking in the attention of loved ones truly filled my heart with joy. As cheesy as that sounds, it is true.

My makeup bag is full of Cover Girl products, my wardrobe stacked with new undies and jeans. I fill up on my favourite foods, quality time with my loved ones and crispy on the outside, soft on the inside bagels. This gets me through some time when I can say “last month when I was back in the States,” or I just got these jeans. But when the time gets further and further away my tank gets empty and the time together seems so long ago.

For now, I will bask in the feelings of closeness I had with my family and try to squeeze every last ounce out of it.

Responses

  1. It is just about the same for me. I will stay “filled up” for quite some time as I savior every minute we spent together. My mind is filled with beautiful pictures of all the fun we had together, shopping with you for make-up and undies was lots of fun. Seeing your face when you have sticker shock from our “much lower” prices than you have become accustomed to in AU. Running through the stores, exciting. Watching the cashiers face when she asks for your “zip code” was great. Seeing my 4 grandsons just loving the time they spent together, and having fun in the snow. Enjoying time with our families. Priceless!

  2. I get this way too…It takes about 10 months for my tank to empty completely.

    The rain has been intense hasn’t it?

    I still can’t get over summer and january. and christmas in summer. I mean what is that?

    • Thankfully the rain has stopped (for now!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

