Posted by: dsduffy | October 14, 2010

How time feels


The second-hand on the clock that is mounted above the door of any high school History class ticks much slower than its supposed to, of this I am sure.

The morning of October 14th 2000, after walking out of the hair salon with a fresh face of makeup, looking up at the sunny skies to keep from crying, only to have my sister say “Don’t cry, you’re going to ruin your makeup, this is a happy day!” Bouncing in my shoes standing in front of 170 of our closest family & friends blurting out “I just want to kiss him already!” Dancing our last song of the night encircled by our loved ones to “I’ve had the time of my life” feeling like we were doing a scene in a movie that was so perfectly scripted.  The past 10 years seem to have flown by but then when I realize all we have been through it seems just about right.

The hours leading up to the arrival of my first child, after being induced, seem to all blend together. One minute I was watching Dr. Phil and the next I was holding on for dear life to the left side bedrail begging for it to all be over to the next minute seeing my little bundle of boy being held up for all to see from across the operating room.

The 3 minutes as directed on the EPT pregnancy test directions are definitely longer than any other 3 minutes, while waiting for 2 pink lines to appear, as my 17 month old Cameron played in the next room.

The 15 + 6 hour plane rides from one side of the planet to the other, definitely feels like 15 + 6 hours, especially when there are 2 children along for the ride.

The first 15 months without seeing our family & friends while living in Australia seemed much longer. Like we missed out on so much, that we had changed so much in that time away.

The 10 months since we have seen our family doesn’t feel as long as the last long stretch apart. Maybe it’s because we are more settled here and haven’t changed as much.

8 weeks from now- I am hoping they feel short, because that’s when we will see each other again!

Responses

  1. It’s amazing to me how fast time goes by… but I think the older you get, the faster time moves forward. Maybe it’s better not to rush time, but to just enjoy it. I know we are going to enjoy our time with you when we see you in 8 weeks. I hope time stands still, at times, just for us. ;0)

  2. We are so excited by your BIG NEWS that you are ALL coming home for a visit in December. Can’t wait to see you! Hope the 8 weeks until we can hug you all flies by!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

