Posted by: dsduffy | October 10, 2010

A perfect 10


Back in January I made a resolution to run the 1/2 marathon but a little thing called pneumonia got in my way.

Today I ran the 10km. On October 10, 2010 I did it. I ran it in 1:04 and man does it feel good to say that I did it. I only stopped twice for a quick drink of water and it felt so good to run into the MCG to the sounds of the crowd cheering and the newscasters doing their commentary.

I went into this run with such a negative attitude becase I felt I had let myself down with only doing the 10km, not the 1/2 marathon like I had originally said. As I ran with this big group of complete strangers, all of us together running around this arbitrary circle, for all different reasons, I felt a sense of accomplishment. And I guess that is why we do anything at all…for that feeling of “I can do anything.” And I can. I can do anything, we all can.

Responses

  1. I am so proud of you and continue to be inspired by you! So beautifully written, believe in yourself, you are a perfect 10 to me, my sister! Much love…


Leave a Reply

Categories

