Posted by: dsduffy | October 4, 2010

Live your life


Not for what are you going to do next year, in 11 months. Not for what might be happening or not be happening or could possibly happen. Live your life for right freaking now. The numero uno question I have been asked lately is “have you decided if you are going back or not?” or also phrased as “how long are you staying here in Australia?” Everytime I give a different answer, and I am finding it fun sometimes to come up with a different variation of I DON’T KNOW. I am living for today. I am looking at the weekly calendar on my fridge to see what is going on THIS WEEK. I don’t even peek to next week, I am just concentrating on these 7 days , that’s as far as I’m going. I haven’t looked past Sunday’s Tupperware party at 3pm and that is a-ok with me.

I’m noticing the changes in the world around me: the clock changed ahead an hour, it’s lighter later, the sunset is now visible from our front porch again.  There are more and more people outside across the street, soaking up the sun, enjoying the finally warm air. I am enjoying the NOW. I suggest you* do too.

*No you in particular, just the world in general

Responses

  1. Now I’ll be singing T.I.’s song “Live your Life” all day – which is fine because I love the song! Great advice – helpful to be reminded – enjoy the sun and sunsets – it’s 7:00 am and I’m about to walk w/Liam and the dog to the bus stop in the dark!
    Take care
    Love,
    Pat

  2. I can totally relate to what you have written. I constantly get asked the same questions. I tell people that when we started this journey I thought I would be in Spain for a year–look what that has turned into. I can’t predict the future, so I enjoy the present to the fullest.

  3. Great outlook and way to be! OK, so I definitely think the you* is me, but it’s OK, because I admit I am a planner and I need to “know”. It’s nice to know that I am not the only one asking and that I have company in this category. That is maybe where we are a little bit different. I live by my calendar one day at a time lately since it is such a tight schedule, but I must look ahead since things get booked in advance in my life. I guess I am living in the moment while viewing the bigger picture? I would think that there is a certain amount of planning that will be necessary once you make a decision on when and where you are going, and I know it will all work out for you whether you plan today for the future or if you plan as things get closer.
    I think that “inquiring minds in the U.S. want to know” your next move, because we all miss you and want to know when and how soon we will see you!

  4. anks, Stephanie, for your thoughtful post. As one of those “inquiring minds in the U.S.”, I sure can’t wait to know when we might see you the Australia family again. We miss you all soooo much!


Leave a Reply

Categories

