Posted by: dsduffy | September 15, 2010

Two.


Who the heck pushed the Fast Forward button on my life? Seriously, tell me – someone has sped up time and here I sit, exactly 2 years to the day when we stepped foot off that monstrous plane onto this land down under.

I remember so vividly hauling our 8 gigantic filled-to-the-brim suitcases, 2 carseats, 1 stroller and 2little boys across the street, looking to the left for oncoming traffic and not seeing any – oh wait, it comes from the right – as we walked over to AVIS to get our first rental car. Into the car we packed our life, our kids. We drove our American selves on the wrong side of the road to the rental apartment and then wondered “now what?”

Now I look the my left and see the bay with the waves rolling in, and it’s Wednesday so the sailboats are out on the horizon come rain or shine. A windy rainy one second, sunny the next Spring day. One just like the day we arrived here, in Australia.

I ate crumpets with jam for breakfast, packed sultanas in Cameron’s lunch box, and am hoping the Saints make it to the AFL Grand Final, whereas 2 years ago I had no idea what the Grand Final was. I’m already planning what color dress I want to buy for Cup Day, opposed to 2 years ago I walked into a nail salon to get a pedicure and they laughed saying,” it’s Spring Carnival, you have to make an appointment weeks in advance!”

I have a life here. Jake has lived here longer than he did in the US. We have grown so much as a family over the past 2 years, in ways we never could have without embarking on this journey. I’m so thankful for the past 2 years and look forward to what the next 1 has to offer.

Responses

  1. Such mixed emotions ….. miss you all so much & hate that you are so darn far away, but so glad that you are all well & happy and having this wonderful opportunity to live in an amazing country. Love to all … we miss you!

  2. Your post just made me cry! Guess it’s the hormones 🙂 I can’t believe that it has been 2 years. I feel like we were just at your inlaws house for your going away party. I am so glad to hear that you have adjusted to life as an ex-pat in Australia. You are giving your children amazing memories that will last a lifetime. But at the same time, I can’t wait until the day that you tell me you are coming back to the US (& NJ, one can only hope!). Miss you! xoxo


Leave a Reply

Categories

