Posted by: dsduffy | August 23, 2010

Bed Bath & Beyond?


There is a section on this blog (behind the scenes) where I can see what people enter as a search and they end up here. More often than not, “Bed Bath & Beyond Australia” is listed. So I guess I am not the ONLY one who wishes that store was here!

Other things that I have been “pining” for lately:
Wheat Chex cereal, Panera broccoli cheese soup in a bread bowl, grape jelly, baby carrots (now that Jake is actually eating raw carrots as a SNACK, every morning I am at the bench, peeling & cutting carrots .. life would be so much easier with a big bag of  BABY CARROTS!), a quick trip to Old Navy, Victoria’s Secret & Bath & Body works.

There was a television show called “Supermarket Sweep” and I sometimes envision myself running through the aisles of Shop Rite like those contestants  – wheeling my trolley up and down the aisles, scooping my all time favourite items in, eyes wide, focused and determined to get it all in before the time is up. I still find myself scouring the aisles at the grocery store, looking for things that I know are not there.  But I just can’t stop myself from looking while thinking “how can they only have 5 flavours of salad dressing! I just don’t get it! ERGGGG”

With our 2 year anniversary right around the corner, I am still aware of these things. Even though the items on the shelves look normal to me now and I know what brand of washing powder to buy, the thought of what lines the aisles 10,000 miles away still crosses my mind.

I somehow got a subscription to SELF magazine and I wish it would just stop coming.  I try to ignore the advertisements of items that are just not available here, then I flip through just to read the actual articles. But the articles don’t even interest me when they are titled “Best Summer Foods” as I am about to enter Spring. Some things just don’t apply.

On another note – the GAP Australia is opening in Melbourne this Thursday at 7am. Yes I will be there, not at 7am, but probably sometime that day, just to catch a glimpse of something familiar.

Responses

  1. I completely agree with you on the baby carrots- why oh why don’t they have them here?
    And although I am somewhat embarrassed to admit it, I was actually on the show Supermarket Sweep!

    • Jenny – It seems like such a simple thing (Baby carrots) Too funny that you were on that show – You should be proud! Did you win? Congrats on the baby, he is adorable 🙂 How cool to have had a baby “down under”!

  2. Lol. Was at Chadstone just last week and noticed the GAP signs. I knew GAP was coming, but I had no idea they were putting it in the “International Luxury” wing at Chaddy. It’s neighbours to Tiffany’s, Burberry, Coach, Ralph Lauren, etc. It just made me laugh. =)

  3. Besides the kids, when you come home to the states, based on this post, you’ll need some “re-americanizing” too! “Bench”, washing powder, all those u’s thrown into words, trolley – need to send you the dvd’s for Real Housewives of New Jersey stat!!

    (you know this is said w/love♥ and a smile:)

  4. I agree with the Mahoney’s…they took the words right out of my mouth! 🙂 Enjoy your time there…before you know it, high fructose corn syrup will be all around you again!

  5. I used to buy those fresh baby carrots years ago here, as in 2001… our grocery items are ALWAYS being discontinued, and changed. I was amused to see dough in a can on a US recipe blog, it was something very unexpected.

  6. Can you message me with some hints & tips on how you made this blog site look this good , I would appreciate it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

