Posted by: dsduffy | July 14, 2010

Skiing in July


After our 4 day 3 night trip “to the snow” up in Mt. Buller, I can officially say I have found the coldest place in Australia. A short 2.5 hour drive from Melbourne, Mt. Buller was the perfect place to take the boys skiing. We had been fairly warned by several people not to expect snow like we have back in the States and boy were they right! The first day we skied it was beautiful out -the sun was shining and it probably got into the 40’s (Fahrenheit) but the snow? It wasn’t so great .. very patchy and just not consistent. There were times where we had to ski ourselves around dirt and grass patches. But we kept reminding ourselves – we are skiing in Australia! Who knew they even HAD snow here!

The 2nd day was quite different. On the drive up to the mountain from our rental house in Mansfield we could see the grey clouds hanging over the mountains. As we climbed up higher and higher it was evident that visibility would be a problem. But hey! We are skiing in Australia! Who cares about the conditions! And as we got off the shuttle bus at the base (more like 3/4 of the way up the mountain, but that is where the snow starts) it was evident that this would be a very different day from the one before. It was quite cold and extremely windy.

Let me backtrack for a minute to describe the logistics of this mountain. And I am not one who has been to many ski resorts, maybe 7 at the most – but this one doesn’t seem to have been planned out very well. For example – we had to park our car in a carpark, take all our gear, and walk to a shuttle bus stop – with 2 little boys in tow, one of which wanted to be held (I bet you can’t guess who?) Then we had to get on the shuttle bus which we were only on for about 6 minutes, get off with all our gear and children. Then we had to lug our stuff up up up a slippery muddy hill to the ski school where the boys were booked in for the day. I assumed we could sign them in, kiss them goodbye and head off to the chairlift. Not so – Craig had to take Cameron up 2 levels (lots of stairs in ski boots) to get his rentals which was not a quick process – and them bring him back down to get organized in the ski school. By the time all this was said and done, an hour had passed and we had one unhappy Jake on our hands. We had to leave the ski school with him crying and crying but later called to find out that he settled down right away. Needless to say, by the time we did get on the chairlift I was already out of breath and tired.

After that ordeal the first day was great – perfect weather and we had a lot of fun skiing. I had to stop a few times at this one point (I wish I had taken a photo) of the snowy trail I was on surrounded by green mountains all around – no other snow in sight. It was so strange to see!

The 2nd day we could only ski on the back side of the mountain because of the wind. On the way up the chairlift, the wind was blowing so hard I was actually worried that we would blow over (ok not really, but it was very strong wind) At the top, the visibility was so poor that once we started going, Craig would get ahead of me and I literally could not find him. I had to just assume which way he went. Thankfully skiers wear a lot of bright colors so it helped me to find my way. It was quite an experience.

All in all it was a great time, so great for the boys that on the drive back home today Jake asked “Where are going?” I told him back home and he said “No! I want to go skiing again!” Cameron followed up with “I wish we could go skiing every day!” So I guess they really had a blast. I just can’t get over the fact that there is snow in Australia, I had no idea! (is that just stupid of me, or is that a common assumption?)

And now – for some photos:

Responses

  1. Well you can check that one off your “Bucket List” …. Skiing in Australia! Wow … who knew?! Glad you all had fun!


Leave a Reply

Categories

