Posted by: dsduffy | June 29, 2010

The road ahead


On January 1st 2010 I said outloud that this year I would run the half marathon (part of the Melbourne Marathon.) I had been thinking about it, but saying it outloud with other people hearing made it a promise, something that I would do, not something that I say I would do.

And here I am with only 4 and a half months to go. There is a lot of running that I need to do to get myself and my body ready for this challenge, but I am making strides toward it (no pun intended!)

There are some challenges that make this a difficult run to train for. One being time. For long distances I need 1-2 hours. I’ve been running with a partner so I have to work around her schedule as well. We end up running once a week together after she’s done work, and already by 5:30 it is dark and cold. But we do it. We meet at the lake and we run. We push each other to keep going.

There is a running group that meets on a Saturday morning but that is at the same time as Auskick (Cameron’s footy team) so that doesn’t work for me. I just have to make the time during the week when the boys are at school to run run and run.

And the road ahead? I don’t know which way it goes. I don’t know what point B is or which way to go. I might make some wrong turns, have to turn around and even stop to ask for directions. But I am on the road and I’m gonna keep going.

Responses

  1. Good luck training for the half marathon! I think my boyfriend did the melbourne half marathon (before we met!).

    I am an expat too in Melbourne too! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

