Posted by: dsduffy | June 10, 2010

The hard part


Tonight Cameron is sleeping at a friend’s house, on a school night. He will be taken to school by my friend along with his classmate and I won’t see him until after school.  Jake will sleep in the “sleeping room” as we call it (opposed to the play room) for the first time without Cameron snoozing above him. Tomorrow morning I will wake up at about 5:30am, get dressed and wake Jake up soon after. I have prepared him for the fact that he can’t eat cereal out of his favorite blue bowl, or scarf down a cereal bar while he watches his shows. I am just hoping he remembers this at 6am and can hold off for the hour before his surgery is scheduled at a hospital in East Melbourne.

I know that he will be fine. I know that he will not remember any of it and that he is better off by having this surgery to straighten his eyes. I just can’t help but worry, be apprehensive and wish I could avoid it altogether –  how could a human not feel those things? So I just look forward to the part when the nurse calls us in to see him and he is fine. To hear that everything went as expected and that we can take him home. I look forward to being able to give him the new Transformer toy I bought him, and have him lay on the couch watching his favorite movies. That is what will keep me sane for the rest of tonight and tomorrow morning.

This is the hard part of being a parent.

Responses

  1. I am with you all through this waiting time. Yes, this is one of the hard parts of being a parent. Jake is a tough little guy and he will be fine.

  2. Called tonight to send our love, but too late …. the “ringer” was already off. Sending lots of virtual love & hugs. Know it will go well, but can empathize with the “nervous” waiting time. Please call as soon as possible to let us know that all is well.

  3. Sending lots of love, hugs and kisses to all of you!! We are thinking of you! Do what I do (and I will be doing this when the boys have more teeth extracted in a few weeks), keep reminding yourself that this is all for your son’s benefit and that you are doing the right thing to help him. Being a parent is certainly the toughest job there is! Call or email us ANYTIME as we will be waiting…XOXO

  4. Awww, poor Jake & poor mommy! Hope everything goes well with the surgery. Please keep us posted. xoxo.

  5. Hugs to you. Hope everything goes smoothly. Hang in there.


Leave a Reply

Categories

