Posted by: dsduffy | June 5, 2010

“I don’t know” is sometimes the answer


For some reason my 5 1/2 year old has been asking me if  UFO’s and Aliens are real. My answer was and still is: I don’t know. I explained to him that I have not seen any with my 2 eyes, so for me, I don’t know – they could possibly exist. So he says to me “Can’t we Google it?”  And yes, we did and boy was that a mistake – you can only imagine what kinds of things popped up onto the screen – alien-looking things lying on tables, strange beings in jars, yea it was a bit creepy, especially for a 5 1/2 year old. The similar types of drawings of big-headed monsters with big black empty eyes. The disc shaped UFO’s spotted in the sky, accounts of people being abducted and then returned to Earth unharmed.

According to our 4 minute search on Google, they do exist, but my answer will remain “I don’t know.”

A lot of things in life are unknown. The existence of life in outer space,  where my 3-year-old will go to school when he is 5, if we will spend our remaining time in Australia in our current house or not – I could go on and on. This rings true for everyone. As I said before – we can all plan our hearts out, but that doesn’t mean that things will go according to our plan. And sometimes, the only thing that is for certain is that we just don’t know.

Responses

  1. I don’t know either, and that’s ok with me ;0) But I guess it balances with the things that I DO know.


Leave a Reply

Categories

