Posted by: dsduffy | May 24, 2010

I started running again and even got paid


I haven’t hit the pavement since my big crash. And the calendar is creeping up on the 10th of October, which is the date I plan to run my first ever 1/2 marathon. Yes, I plan to run 21.1 km (13.1 miles). I know, it’s crazy. So I have to get out there and RUN! I have a running partner and we go out Wednesday nights around Albert Park Lake, which is about 5k but we need to up it. And there is a running group we go to that is training for a 10k. But to train for 21k….I have to put on some miles, er.. k’s.

So back to today, and how I got paid. I set out to do a fast walk around the lake, to see how I went and just get everything working again. About 1/4 of the way around during my silly-looking fast-walk, I spotted a blue note on the path. I quickly looked around to see if the owner was around, but didn’t see anyone. I snatched that sucker up and thought about it – if I don’t take it, someone else will. Finders keepers, loser weepers. I’ll put it to good use and donate it, maybe I’ll see if those women walking ahead dropped it. No. These 10 dollars are a prize for me. So now I’m going to run. And with that – I took off running and didn’t stop until I got all the way round.

*What would you do – would you pick up money and keep it if nobody saw you? So far, it is still sitting in my car’s cup holder. I haven’t been able to put it in my wallet yet.

Responses

  1. I am not sure why, but ever since moving to Australia it seems like I find a lot of money on the street. Since you didn’t actually see someone drop it –the money is yours. You could always keep it until the day you run 10k and then buy yourself a treat. Good luck on your running!

  2. Keep the money on you when you do the run. It is your good luck money. That’s what I think.

  3. Keep it….if you didn’t someone else would have. I remember when my son was young and closer to the ground he was always finding money. It was kind of funny and lucky………….it is your lucky day.

    How is your shoulder doing? Did it bother you when you were running?


Leave a Reply

Categories

