Posted by: dsduffy | March 28, 2010

From my point of view


To my left is Port Phillip Bay, the water is so close to being the same color as the sky, I had to do a double take and make sure it was all still there. A small fishing boat is leaning to the right, and I know there is another name for “the right” in boating, but I forget right now. I see the man (I assume it’s a man, as it is not often you see a woman fishing alone) he is just a dark figure beside a long thin pole. The clouds are slowing moving to the left, to the east, revealing a blue sky and I’m hoping it will be nice enough to take the boys to the beach later today.

To my left, I hear the nnrrrhhh nnrrrhhh sounds of the Formula 1 race cars, revving their engines, growling as they round the corner that is closest to my house. Today is the Big Race and I know it will be Loud. The Qantas Jet will fly low over the park, and supposedly John Travolta will be making an appearance.  Right behind me is my 3-year-old glasses-wearing boy, who I am completely enamoured with, especially when he out of nowhere cuddles up to me and says I love you mom.  Below is my sleeping 5-year-old, who takes after his father and loves to sleep, a boy after my own heart. Soon I will hear his feet that probably got bigger overnight as he bounds up the stairs, to join his brother on the couch with a bowl of cereal. Above me is my sleeping husband, who will wake soon from the smell of the coffee brewing in the kitchen.

And then the day will begin, full of boys imagining their Hot Wheels cars as part of the Big Race while the real cars will be today’s soundtrack.

A perfect Sunday, from my point of view.

Responses

  1. Awwww …. sounds perfect! Enjoy!
    Love & Hugs to all.

  2. Oh so sweet and good writing too!!!! It is good to write these things down because it is amazing what details we forget. I have fond memories of playing with my son and helping him drive and park all of his Hot Wheels cars. He would have loved having the racing sounds to help him out too. He still has all of his cars and never plans to part with them…….cases and cases of them.

  3. WOW, what fantastic memories you will all have. I can close my eyes and imagine myself right next to you and hearing the sounds of the race cars, picturing the serene water with the fisherman, and just taking it all in. This is definately one of life’s bonus’ and you guys hit the Jackpot!

  4. This is such a lovely post.

  5. Agreed!

  6. I thought of you when my husband told me that Gap is coming to Melbourne in Spring. Exciting right, just hope the prices are good.


Leave a Reply

Categories

