Posted by: dsduffy | March 22, 2010

Finding my place


I think I would have gotten involved in school if we still lived in the States but I knew for sure that I wanted to here to be able to meet people, and also get myself familiar with the school system. The schools are a bit different to say the least, but I am just rolling with the punches (no pun intended!)

There are a lot of things to get involved in – fundraising, parent helpers, helping out with Free Fruit Friday, and excursions (field trips.) I already know that it takes a lot to put myself out there in general, meeting people and forming relationships, and this is another thing I just have to take a deep breath and do. Step outside of my comfort zone and just put on that confident face, and be in a situation where I don’t always know what is going on (or what they are talking about – what is a compactus??) So that’s just what I did – I volunteered to be one of the Class Reps for Cameron’s class (think PTA mom.)

Also having a “group” of moms to befriend, opposed to a woman I met at this playground, one I met through Craig’s work, or a friend of a friend. It is nice to finally be part of a group again, where we all have something in common (our kids being in the same school.)  I also like seeing the same faces everyday, getting to know their names and then seeing them around town – at the shops, the gym, or out at dinner. it feels good to be finding my place in this not-so-new-anymore place.


Responses

  1. Good for you! It’s great for Cameron, too, for you to be involved with his class and his school. No deep breath or confident face needed …. anyone who meets you, has gotta love you!

  2. What are “free Fruit Fridays”? Candy only, free of fruit, or giving out fruit for free??

    • It is a government thing — the schools get the free fruit, and they need parents help to cut it all up 🙂 You are cute, I like the Candy Only option!!!!

  3. What are some of the differences between the American and Austrailan school systems?

    A compactus is a big filing cabinet with shelves that roll to open a gap so you can do filing. You can only access one shelf at a time so it is a compact filing cabinet.


Leave a comment

Categories