Posted by: dsduffy | March 13, 2010

Filter


Look, sometimes there isn’t much going on that is “blogworthy.” Other times, I have great ideas for posts in my head and then realize I won’t get more than 2 sentences out of it. But often I think of something and then shake my head thinking it just isn’t something I want to blog about. I find I censor myself often, even in my Facebook status updates, always wondering what others will think. Isn’t that terrible? I mean, this is MY blog, not anyone elses. But I don’t want to piss anyone off or hurt anyone’s feelings. Sometimes I want to say “to hell with it” and just type what is in my head and click “publish” and be done. But I don’t. I do have a few “drafts” that I just had to get out of my head, not yet having the guts to actually put them out there.
And maybe they will always be drafts, never making it to the screen for everyone to read.

I read several blogs and find myself envying the authors for their complete and utter honesty. Their ability to just say how they feel, not fearing what others will think or hurting people’s feelings.

I started this blog as a way for people to follow our “big adventure” and find myself wanting to write about other things (which I do at times, but try to limit it to expat related subjects) maybe at some point I will start another blog, where I can write whatever I want, without filtering anything.

Responses

  1. Whatever you write about…. I am reading and loving it…. Pictures are always wonderful to see. Keep the blog going.

  2. Ditto what Mom said:)♥

  3. Just do it Danielle! Publish…be yourself…if others don’t like it…so be it! What’s that saying? “The people who matter don’t care and the people who care don’t matter!” 😉

  4. Thanks Jan! I wish I could…maybe one day!

  5. I just wanted to say that I can totally relate to your conflict of how much to say. And I find as I get older and form more opinions I am more likely to say something that I wonder later whether I should have said it. I think of a little old lady who has completely lost their filtering system and says anything on their mind. I’m worried that I may be heading that way. Ha! Just kidding!!!! Seriously I understand what you are saying. I wish I had some advise for you. I do love the quote from up above that I could apply to my life right now. Oh my………have I said to much???

  6. No matter what you write, I always find it interesting to read.

  7. Love it! Love it! Love it! Just continue to be yourself. (yes I love when you include photos too!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

