Posted by: dsduffy | January 13, 2010

Some things, they never change


I’m not sure what I expected when I came back to the US after being away for 15 months. I had heard so many businesses closed up, things were just not the same, don’t be shocked.  So that made me think of boarded up stores, with falling-off signs, maybe even a tumbleweed rolling down the upper level of the Cherry Hill Mall. But this is not so. At least not where I am. Some stores have changed,  even entire shopping centers have been built. But it looks and feels pretty much the same to me, only colder.

It is hard to live out of a suitcase, especially with 2 little boys. And especially when these 2 boys have opinions of what they want to wear. And especially when the particular shirt they want to wear is folded neatly in a drawer 10,000 miles away.

It is inevitable (I love that word) that some things will get left at houses in states you have visited, especially when you are living out of suitcases and are travelling from house to house trying to keep everything all together, and organized. I feel like we have left a bread-crumb trail of socks and t-shirts through the Northeast.

Being able to go to my nephew’s ice hockey game was awesome – I hear about his games all the time, it was great to be able to finally see for myself.

Going to a playdate with friends we met when Cameron was 3 months old was also great. I’m not sure all the kids remember each other, but they played together and had fun, and that is all that matters. It’s nice to feel like we can pick up when we left off, even if it was 2 or 3 years ago.

Sitting at the kitchen table at my mom’s house, chatting, eating, coloring with the kids – we have done all this stuff in the same place for probably 30 years. As I was cleaning crayon off the table it occurred to me that mom probably did the exact thing with me. Some things never change. And that is just fine with me.

Responses

  1. What a great post! I’m glad you are feeling the familiar sameness that you had before. I think the first trip home is the hardest because you don’t know what to expect. In many ways I relate. I can walk back in my mom’s front door and feel at home. My bottles of perfume and mousse are still until the bathroom sink. My favourite cereal is always stocked in the pantry. I can pick back up where I left off with most friends. I personally struggle with the physical changes to places (like you mention with the new shopping centres) because coming back to things that are brand new makes me realise how much I AM actually missing, day to day.

    I’m so glad for you, that you are enjoying your time at home with your family and friends. And I am especially glad that your familiar places haven’t gone to the dogs. Enjoy the rest of you time and soak up the cold and snow because you are missing out on some terrible heat. 🙂

    • Thanks, Erin! You are so right about being able to accurately picture such familiar things. It is such a comfort sometimes to know things like that are still there even though you are not!

      It sure is COLD here, but I am enjoying it – especially for the kids playing in the snow we had over Christmas week. But I do look forward to getting back into my “thongs” hahaha!

  2. Sounds like you are having a wonderful time and really soaking up these special moments with friends and family. So glad that your trip has been a good one. Enjoy the rest of your time there!

    • Thanks Suzi 🙂 it is great to be home!

  3. I laughed today when I found one of Craig’s socks and little pieces of tissue that Jake left behind in the guest room!! You are all welcome to stay here anytime, it has been wonderful to spend time together! I will always be following your bread crumb trail as you continue your adventure…much love always 😉

  4. Love the post.. I feel the same way whenever I go back home to the states for a visit. As much as I love Oz, I love my good ol USA too… and I find that I miss them both.

    And people tell me how much things change and all that.. but I dont really see it when I return for a visit.. granted, some things are different, but not to what most of them hyped it up to be.

    Thats when I realized that Americans are a bit dramatic. And I love that about myself… have fun back home, eat to your hearts content, and shop girl.. SHOP.

    BTW.. Sunshine Coast is about 33 degrees yesterday and humid… perfect ocean day.. keep warm!


Leave a Reply

Categories

