Posted by: dsduffy | December 31, 2009

This blog is on a holiday


Sorry, I have been too busy shoving Land o’ Lakes American Cheese into my mouth to be able to update this blog. I have SO much to write about, but it seems like I just can’t find the time.

Here is a brief snapshot of important info:

The plane ride wasn’t THAT terrible. I don’t look forward to doing it again in 23 days, but it wasn’t nearly as bad as the first time.

Jetlag sucks. Sleeping with a 2 year old sucks. Trying to explain to a 5 year old about what jetlag is sucks, but we are all on schedule now. I still can’t sleep for 8 hours straight, but I had that problem back in Melbourne. That sucks.

What doesn’t suck is seeing my family! I have said it before and will say it again, the only real bad thing about living 10,000 miles away is not seeing them. So I am really trying to soak it all up.

I bought clothes for Cameron for the next year – I breezed through Old Navy like I was on a paid-for shopping spree, grabbing clothes off tables, rummaging through Clearance racks and handing over my credit card, while praising myself for “saving” so much money.

I bought all these clothes, and received heaps of Christmas presents (all of which were awesome!) and now have to figure out how to get it all back to AU. I already sent one box that weighed 20.9lbs and it cost…$123 (yikes!)

It’s awesome seeing so many of our friends and how big their kids have gotten, and it is so heartwarming to see my boys playing and spending quality time with their cousins, aunts, uncles and grandparents.

I don’t know when I will be able to update again –  I’ll get to it eventually…..

Happy 2010 Everyone!

Responses

  1. Hello!
    Just wanted to let you know that I read your ENTIRE blog, start to finish, yesterday. I love it so much. I am a Canadian moving to Sydney for at least three years (alone, for school..don’t know a soul) on February 1st for law school, and I have enjoyed reading all the little quirks and differences between America and Australia! I also think your attitude is amazing, and you have such a loving family (I read the comments too!)
    Continue to have a great time back at “home” and I look forward to keeping up with new posts on your blog!
    Cheers!

    Carolyn

  2. I have heard people use Sea Mail for a much cheaper alternative to posting in the US mail. They ship to the USA and I have had two friends use them to ship From the UK and to Israel. The cargo takes a couple of months to arrive, but if you are sending kids clothing for winter here, you have time.
    Also, we moved here just by packing extra baggage on the airplane. That was seriously the cheapest way to get things here. One large 50 pound bag will cost you and extra 100 dollars. That’s a lot better than the US Post can offer (and no silly customs declarations).
    Good luck.


Leave a Reply

Categories

