Posted by: dsduffy | November 16, 2009

A year later, an American in Australia


After spending a day working at the “sausage sizzle” at the “Fete” at Cameron’s school (think: annual carnival) it felt normal to refer to a hamburger roll as a “bread roll” (but aren’t all rolls made out of bread?)

While washing my hands after boxing class in the gym locker room, chatting with a girl from class, she asked “So where are you from?” immediately I thought to myself “oh right, I’m different, I will never get away from that.”

At the grocery store checkout, the cashier pointed to the package of huggies and said “do you want them in a bag?” my answer after a second of thought was “No, I can just put the nappies in my trolley.” I laughed aloud at the sentence that just came out of my mouth and I’m sure she thought I was wacky.

Listening to the radio while driving Cameron to school, the weather report said it would be a bit cooler today, at only 25 degrees. This still does not mean much to me. I know it is not boiling hot and not really cold, but I do not know what it is in Farenheit, thank you Apple for my iphone and my iconvert app.


It’s funny, living in another country – being immersed in a different culture. Funny, strange, exciting, frustrating, challenging and eye-opening. Really I never thought I would live in any other country besides the US, it’s not like I had this longing to actually live in another country. And now that I have been doing it for more than a year, it really isn’t so bad – it might be more challenging if it had been a country with a different language altogether. Living here is pretty easy, but I know I will always be an outsider, a stranger in a strangeland, I can’t escape that.

Responses

  1. celsius to fahrenheit is easy!!! ok…take the celsius number and muliply it by 2. then add 32. lastly, (and here’s the trickiest part), subtract from that sum the original celsius number divided by 5. ok…an example — 25 celsius. 25 x 2 = 50. add 32 and you have 82. then, divide that original celsius number by 5 (25/5 = 5 for this example) and minus that from the 82. so…25 celsius is exactly 77 degrees.

  2. “So where are you from?” That one wears you out after a while…I totally got sick of being asked that. 🙂

  3. COngrats!! You will be amazed now that you are familiar how fast the next year will be! Soak it all up while you can!


Leave a Reply

Categories

